Just another WordPress.com site

I was looking back ‘fondly’ to the first week of owning Darcy the other day.  She arrived as a 3yo, never having travelled in a lorry before but bless her calm and chilled and good as gold.  She had been sold to me as backed, turned away and brought back in to work for a couple of weeks. I was told she could walk, trot and canter and pop a log out hacking.  Good on roads, excellent to shoe, box, clip etc.  I bought her from a dealer in Wales (perhaps alarm bells should have rung!?)

Day One – lots of patting a couple of polos, a wander round the yard ‘I love her’

Day Two – lots of patting, slightly less polos (don’t want to start her nipping!), a good groom, a wander round the yard ‘I love her’

Day Three – 2 hours to put her bridle on, much crying and wailing ‘I love you why are you so mean to me’, can’t pick her feet up

Day Four – 2.5 hours to put her bridle on, can’t pick her feet up, eventually got bridle on, tomorrow we are riding!!  Much more crying and wailing (me not her).

Day Five – 3 hours to put bridle on, one foot picked up, I RODE!!! We walked and trotted around the school (couldn’t get canter for love nor money), leading her out of the school she spooked, stood up, landed on me, knocked me 6ft on concrete, bolted… cue lots more crying and wailing and you guessed it ‘Why are you so mean to me’ wailing 🙂

Have I made a terrible mistake!!??

Leave a Reply

